Abundance In 2014

Happy New Year to all of you!  Most of us have survived a hectic 2013.  I did not realize just how much I had survived until I took the time to reflect.  I am grateful and I do what I must to keep it going. Thank you to those of you who have cheered me through these difficult times. You are loved.  Now I am looking down the barrel of January, 2014.

I have made no resolutions.  I have promised myself that I am going to make ME a priority and say NO more often to things and people that do not serve me, especially if those things take me away from bigger goals.  There are tutors to learn from and students to teach. I have children who need more of my time.  

I set the stage to discuss abundance.  What does that mean to you?  Most people will talk about money, rightfully so.  Having more than enough would put me in a position to help more people.  I agree.  But abundance for me, is more than money.  I need an abundance of time (we all have the same 24 hours, what we do with it is up to us).  I want to spend mine doing things that make positive changes in others’ lives.  I want the dash to matter, that I left an indelible mark on the world for the better.  

Abundance is love. It is unfortunate that I have not always had the best relationships, given that I am divorced today. However, that experience made me better, not bitter.  So no longer will I allow someone to take up my time doing things to make them happy while I suffer.  It will be about US, all of US, you, my children, your children, and me.  Let us NOT leave God out of that equation because we want him at the top of the list.  I have so much love to give, yet I have shared it with the wrong people.  It is all good for I cannot get that back, but God just keeps filling me up so I can share it all over again.  Talk about not being in short supply!

Abundance is wisdom.  You can never know everything, but if you make enough mistakes, you can learn a lot.  I have certainly done that and I do not seek perfection, for I am not Christ, but I strive to give my best in all I do.  Therefore, if I am available to lend a hand, a listening ear, a shoulder, and some guidance, I am open to it.  There is no way I have gone through all of this HELL for nothing.

Abundance is sharing.  What is the point in hoarding?  Leads me back to that story about the man God gave one talent and he hid it, while the others shared theirs and God multiplied them.  There is enough of everything out here that we do not have to hoard.  Share your business.  Share your ideas. Share your ethics, morals, and values.  If you think that when I share an idea with you and you run off trying to make money from it that you have done something, so be it.  God has my back and I do not have time to waste chasing you to correct it.  We will all reap what we sow. You will deal with God on that.  

Abundance is forgiveness.  If I have wronged you, I ask for your forgiveness.  If you have wronged me, I have let it go; however, it does not mean I am going to entertain you.  I can love you from a distance.  I have forgotten, for all intensive purposes, what you have done, and I have gone on.  I suggest you do the same.  God throws our wrongs into the sea of forgetfulness.  Do you really thing I am running around sulking over what you did?  Who has time for that?  Really…if you are still holding on to a grudge, it is time for you to evict that and stop allowing it to rent space in your heart.  I do not have time to worry over those who choose to wrong me, when there are plenty who want to love me.  I am open to love.

So whatever your definition of abundance is for you, it is for you.  I have many.  In fact, abundance is another day above ground for me. This gives me another day to get it to right and for that, I am grateful.  Going through the Facebook timeline, I saw a lot of deaths. We lost a lot of people at the end of 2013 going into 2014.  For those people, this year has already begun in difficult place.  If you are reading this post, please know that God can heal your wounds.

So go ahead, be blessed, bless others, love more and dislike less, give more and stop holding on to stuff.  Things can be replaced. Good people are hard to replace.  Hold on to them when they come into your life.  Thank you for reading another inspirational piece at TrueToYourWord.  Please share.Image

One thought on “Abundance In 2014

  1. Tommy says:

    First allow me to preface my comment by saying, I sincerely enjoy and grow from your writings. But this piece and the one about figuring out my gift from God holds a special place in me.
    Now I know there is no blueprint to life, but these thing that you speak of and write about are basic to some extent. But so many of us didn’t get them until adulthood. And I’m sad to say, some of us still haven’t gotten it. I think if more of us did what you are doing, “no we don’t want that either”, because all of us unfortunately don’t have the heart that you posses. So I’m going to just say, I am one soul that you have touched, and I’m not saying that I was ever a bad or uncaring person. But I was one who allowed himself to be used to the point of starting to become resentful. But I’m starting to see I’m not alone and your writings have helped me to navigate myself better.

Leave a Reply

